Reviews

Yelp Reviews

s s. – Manhattan, NY 8/14/2011

I had a great experience at this practice. Dr. Jamal listened to me and took the time to do a thorough heck of my skin. Her staff was courteous and professional. I had been to see other Dermatologists in the past and she was the only one who really helped me.

Stan L. – New York, NY 11/8/2010

I’ve been a patient at Keris Dermatology for the past year and all I can say is that I absolutely love it! Dr. Jamal is not only an amazing doctor but someone who is always ready to share in a story and make you feel comfortable. I have had skin issues that I have not been able to rid myself of since childhood (I’m 31 now) and Dr. Jamal has helped me to overcome what I thought was something that would plague me for life. Of course it is an ongoing battle but one that I know I will not have to fight alone. I highly recommend Keris Derm, they are the best!

Sara N. – New York, NY 8/24/2010

I have been a very satisfied patient of Dr. Jamal for over three years. I suffer from persistent adult acne that just gets worse during pregnancy. Dr. Jamal has helped keep my skin in great shape, even when I can’t use the strong retinoid acne medications during pregnancy. Also, I currently undergo microdermbrasion treatments at Keris every three weeks and find them to be the best value for my money in terms of keeping my skin in tip top shape. I used to go to a ‘medi spa’ and pay over $150 for facials – I get better results and great service under the care of a licensed physician at Keris dermatology. I have recommended Dr. Jamal to friends and will continue to do so!

Sean T. – Bronxville, NY 8/22/2010

I have been to many doctors and clinics in my native Manhattan. There have been precious few that have made my family, this includes my mother, who is in her mid-eighties, at ease. Dr. Jamal’s professionalism and kindness are at the core of these feelings.

Dr. Jamal’s radiance, shines onto her patients. My doctor reluctant mother, does not freeze upon mention of a visit to Dr. Jamal. This feeling of trust and competencey is not easily won. Dr.Jamal’s advice and treatments have been sound and life enhancing. Dr. Jamal’s care of my elderly mother, her special needs, and the magnificent results, have been a display of why Dr. Jamal is our doctor. My experience with doctors has shown me that many are called, but few are chosen. Dr. Jamal has been chosen. My family and I have had our health and lives enhanced by our relationship with Dr. Jamal and Keris Dermatology. I highly recomend Dr. Jamal and Keris Dermatology.

Stephanie, Alexandria and family.

rebecca s. – New York, NY 8/15/2010

I absolutely love Dr Jamal.. She is amazing!!! She will help you with all your concerns and questions. Her entire office is very friendly and knowledgeable. I have called the office about questions and they get back to me immediately. Dr. Jamal is very smart and I would put all my trust in her. She is one of the few doctors out there that will not instill fear. She wants you to be cautious and take care of your skin. She is the best!!!!

Sandy M. – Briarwood, NY 8/13/2010

I have been going to Dr. Jamal for more than three years, and after many years of disappointment with more dermatologists than I can remember, it was refreshing to finally find someone who not only took the time to understand my skin, but provide the proper care. She started me out on a regimen then adjusted it until we found something that works for me. She is very pleasant, respectful, and answers all my questions.

The wait time is usually quite reasonable. The staff is very efficient and friendly. The office is clean and comfortable.

The only problem I have is that my insurance does not cover most of my prescriptions! Okay, so this is not her fault. She gives coupons and samples when she can, so that’s helpful. I highly recommend Dr. Jamal.

april a. – New York, NY 8/12/2010

hello, went 2 c this dr. the other day. no wait. well maybe 5 minutes. was very polite. concerned about any skin problems. made me take my hair down to study scalp. studied whole body. made me turn over and checked back. really nice experience. will go back next year for my yearly full skin physical. she was really concerned about me. like that. better yet. i trust her. feel she’s very, very qualified in her field.

c r. – New York, NY 8/9/2010

Dr. Jamal is exactly the dermatologist I’ve been looking for. I’ve had some crazy skin issues for which I saw a ton of doctors – none of them could help me or identify the real cause…until Dr. Jamal. Her out-of-the-box thinking, methodical approach, extensive knowledge of products (prescription and store), as well as her through intelligence (her years in research made me feel better about her knowledge base) got my skin issues resolved.

V W. – New York, NY 8/7/2010

I am an adult that suffers from acne, not just the little whiteheads or blackheads but the big sometimes painful cysts acne. I thought all hope was lost until I became a patient of Dr. Jamal’s. The regimen she put me on did wonders for my skin. During each visit, the conversation is never just about my acne. We talk about how things are going at school and work. I am in agreement with the other reviews when it comes to the nurses. They are always friendly and personable. Whenever someone is in need of a dermatologist, I always recommend Dr. Jamal without hesitation.

Jennifer L. – New York, NY 8/4/2010

I have been a patient of Dr. Sumaya Jamal, the proprietor of Keris Dermatology, for nearly a decade and I have never been disappointed by her service. She is that rare physician that spends the actual time with you that is necessary to address your issues. So sometimes, she has a patient back up. Big deal, at least it is not a result of stacking appointments too closely. I underwent laser hair removal. When the desired result was not achieved, without prompting, Dr. Jamal refunded my money. A true sign of integrity.

B C. – New York, NY 8/4/2010

I have been a patient’s of Dr. Jamal’s for 9 years. I have seen numerous dermatologists all over NYC and for me, she has been the best overall. From my experience, the best dermatologists all have long waits… as do all my different doctors. So it makes no difference to me. What counts is how effective a doctor is. She is as good as it gets. A professor of dermatology at NYU, with a clinical research background and if you look at her credentials, her experience is beyond solid. I could never trust my skin to all those new practices with inexperienced dermatologists that are barely out of med school!

Since I have seen Dr. Jamal, I have had no more breakouts. My skin glows because of her. Her treatments diagnose my skin problems directly and she gives simple maintenance regimes that keep my skin clear. She accepts all types of insurance which is a bonus as alot of dermatologists do not.

Simply put, love Dr. Jamal and happy to be a patient of hers.

Rachelle R. – New City, NY 8/3/2010

My sister has been going to Dr Jamal for about 2 years and I have been a patient here for 6 months. The office is clean, entire staff is very professional, and Dr Jamal is a very proficient Dr who has an excellent bedside manner. She is extremely approachable and is a pleasure to work with. I recommend her to all seeking a dermatologist, from every race/ethnicity, she is terrific!

Cori T. – New York, NY 8/2/2010

I have been a patient of Dr. Jamal’s for over10 years now. I began seeing her when she was still on staff at NYU and followed her to this practice. I have also recommended upwards of 6 people to see her. They too have continued to consult with her religiously and have in turn recommended her to people they know and care about. If that is not the most important and telling fact, I don’t know what it.

But further, Dr. Jamal is intelligent, friendly, pleasant, but mostly, very thorough. She has solved every dermatological problem I have had. And some have been complex. I will concede with a review I saw on here that speaks about sometimes having to wait awhile to see the doctor, but I will say to that, I get very nervous if I go to see a Doctor and get to waltz straight in. The wait at Dr. Jamal’s office confirms for me the fact that she is attending to other patients in a busy practice. I know the other patients are receiving the same thorough care I am there to receive also. I am willing to wait for top notch care . Also, the wait is not obscene. The staff is very professional and friendly and all in all it is always as pleasant an experience as visiting a doctor can be.

I will continue to see Dr. Jamal for all of my issues, and will also continue to recommend her to people who I care about with confidence they will be receiving the very best dermotological care and treatment there is.

Anya F. – Southampton, NY 7/29/2010

I’ve been going to see Dr. Jamal for over two years now, pretty much just for an annual skin check as I have a high hereditary risk of melanoma. Dr. Jamal is thorough and informative and so far has removed six moles that were irregular. I have scars from the stitches but they are very small and have all healed perfectly.

Dr. Jamal has also made various skin care recommendations in response to my questions and requests while she’s been performing my skin exams, all of which have been for high quality products, some of which I already used but some which I was very happy to discover.

Waiting time is usually not an issue but I did have one late day appointment where I was glad I brought along some work reading.

I’ve recommended Dr. Jamal to many friends, male and female, and all of them are happy so far as I know.

Jason b. – Brooklyn, NY 6/10/2010

I look forward to my visits to Keris Dermatology. Dr Jamal has a passion for profession and is very knowledgeable. I think Dr. Jamal and her assistants are very polite, courteous and easy to talk to. I have tried many (many) different Dermatologists. None compare.

george b. – New York, NY 4/3/2010

UPDATE – just went back again for a routine skin check visit – great new reception/assistant 🙂 Love this place.

First impressions count! I love this office, it’s not at all like visiting a typical doctor’s office, much more like a high end spa or something. Dr. Jamal is fast and efficient and has an aura of confidence and expertise. I will definitely be a repeat customer if the need arises (the doctor managed to deal with my skin problem in my initial visit).

cassandra m. – New York, NY 1/22/2010

I has spent over 10 years desperately searching for a good dermatologist. All sorts of doctors were recommended to me, some more competent than others. However it is only when I found Dr. Jamal of Keris Dermatology, that I found a caring, kind, excellent doctor of the highest caliber. For 10 years I searched for a doctor who could treat my painful keloids painlessly and with sensitivity. Finally I found Dr. Jamal who was able to do exactly that. Finally I found a doctor who is working with me to remove painful scar tissue. Dr. Jamal has an excellent bedside manner, is prompt and efficient, and a pleasure to know. I will always recommend her, and always look forward to doing so.

Tiffany M. – New York, NY 11/27/2009

I love Dr. Jamal and highly recommend her. She is really good and takes the time to listen. She fixed my skin problems and didn’t try to sell me a bunch of products as soon as I walked into the room. Her staff was warm and friendly. I waited about 20 minutes to be seen which isn’t bad compared to many other offices.

ZocDoc Reviews

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on March 24, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Very attentive, resposive to questions, clear and personable. i felt that i was able to make informed decisions after speaking with dr jamal.

Contona J. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on February 16, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

She is very thorough with her assestments

Zipporah P. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on February 10, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Dr. Jamal is the best.

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on January 22, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

I had an early appointment so I did not have to wait. The main Dr. is not there on the weekend but I was still pleased with the service I received.

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on January 8, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

The staff are quite friendly and the atmosphere is very calm. The dermatologist that attended to me was patient and seemed to be knowledageble. I will definitely be returning and hopefully, the results I am looking for is fulfilled.

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on December 16, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Incredibly thorough and detailed skin check. Highly recommended!

Ann Marie L. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on December 13, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

I’ve been seeing Dr. J fr years. Her office managers have acually gotten MUCH better (or maybe changed altogether), so the wait time has drastically decreased. Dr. J is one of the more digital saavy docs that I see, so it’s really easy for her to look up my records, send in percription info to the pharmacy, etc. Very easy!

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on November 30, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Dr. Jamal is down to earth, and nice.

Patricia M. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on October 22, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

So far so good 🙂

Howson D. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on August 20, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

i was a patient aprox 4 years ago, and she has not only maintained the standards, she has done the impossible! improved already great standards. david howson

Derahonon D. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on April 3, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

She was very professional and very well qualified. She is also a very good listener. I will gladly keep her as my doctor (dermatology) from now on. Thank you Doctor! Dérahonon Djédjé

Jamile H. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on March 1, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Very nice and extremely professional. Will definitely go back!

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on January 23, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

My first trip to a dermatologist ever–which I was very nervous about–turned out to be completely painless. Everyone in the office was incredibly friendly; overall, a great experience!

Aduke T. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on September 15, 2009

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Dr Sumayah had a great way of explaining what my skin condition was, what caused it and what I could do to prevent another flare up. She is friendly and professional, and also has flawless skin, which is always reassuring in a dermatologist. I highly recommend her to others.

Valery J. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on May 26, 2009

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Doctor was very thorough and put me at ease. Quickly diagnosed the possibilities of my condition and informed me of all ways that i can have it resolved. Would definitely recommend this facility to others.

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD less than 3 months ago.

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD less than 3 months ago.

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on May 11, 2011

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD less than a year ago.

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD less than a year ago.

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on November 18, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Shani B. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on November 4, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

L. Keren D. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on August 16, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Joyce D. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on August 16, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Frank H. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on April 17, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Jennifer K. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on February 8, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Frank H. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on January 23, 2010

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on October 5, 2009

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Madifing K. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on October 2, 2009

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD more than a year ago.

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Busisiwe Z. (Verified ZocDoc User) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on January 24, 2009

Recommendation
Bedside Manner
Wait Time

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD less than 3 months ago.

Recommendation

Verified ZocDoc User (name withheld for privacy) saw Sumayah Jamal, MD, PhD on November 3, 2010

Recommendation